Acid Reflux and Adjustable Beds

Endoscopic image of peptic stricture showing n...

Endoscopic image of peptic stricture showing narrowing of the esophagus near the junction with the stomach due to chronic gastroesophageal reflux in the setting of scleroderma. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gravity plays an incredibly large part in controlling acid reflux, so it is no surprise that acid reflux is at its worst at night when the body is in a prone position. It is also at night that acid reflux can cause the most damage. This is because swallowing helps to bring the acid reflux back down to the stomach, but at night you do not swallow frequently, so the acid reflux stays in the esophagus for greater periods of time. This is where the advantage of owning an adjustable bed comes in. By sleeping with your upper body slightly elevated acid reflux can often be controlled, and when this is combined with some of the medicines available for acid reflux, it provides a powerful means of preventing and controlling acid reflux.

An adjustable bed is a bed that allows for the head and foot sections to be raised and lowered. Modern adjustable beds use electrical motors to control movement, and often include extras such as heat and massage. Adjustable beds have in some shape or form been available for many years. They have their roots in the hospital industry, which long ago discovered the many advantages of adjustable beds. It was not until the 1960’s that these devices became popular for the general consumer, and since the price has dropped while the quality has risen.

There are many medicinal advantages that are associated with adjustable beds. Adjustable beds have been shown to improve circulation, help to ease lower back pain and tension, improve breathing conditions, help with acid reflux, and have many other benefits. Many of these advantages come from the ability to easily put yourself in the semi-fowler position. The semi-fowler position is when the head is elevated to 30 – 45 degrees, and is largely accepted in the hospital industry as providing many advantages for patients who have undergone surgery.

Of all the medical benefits associated with adjustable beds, perhaps the most intriguing is its help with combating acid reflux. Acid Reflux, or gastroesophageal reflux disease, is a common medical condition wherein acids from the stomach are regurgitated into the esophagus. It is incredibly common and by some estimates affects over 40 million Americans each year. Small amounts of acid reflux, or heartburn, are normal, but chronic cases will result in damage an inflammation of the esophagus. Over a long period of time acid reflux will result in hoarseness, chronic cough, throat and chest pain, and feeling like there is always a lump in your throat.

Adjustable beds offer many other advantages that revolve around individual comfort and usability. They make it much easier to watch TV or to read books in bed. It is also much more ergonomic and practical to eat in bed with an adjustable bed. Whether you are purchasing your adjustable bed for one of the many of the medical reasons, to get a better nights rest, or for any of the other advantages associated with them, you will be amazed at the luxurious feelings associated with these beds.

Related articles

34 thoughts on “Acid Reflux and Adjustable Beds

  1. Pingback: Proven Ways on How Do I Get Rid of Heartburn | Get Rid of Acid Reflux

  2. Let’s speak a little about the physical activity side initial. An additional important good results aspect to a swift weight loss diet regime is when to eat these meals and how often.

  3. I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  4. all the time i used to read smaller content that as well
    clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading at this place.

  5. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have
    put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well.
    In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get
    my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly.

    Your write up is a great example of it.

  6. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours as of late, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet shall be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  7. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, superb blog!

  8. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  9. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  10. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be at the web
    the simplest thing to have in mind of. I say to you, I certainly
    get irked while other people consider worries that they just don’t realize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest as neatly as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , folks could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  11. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.

    I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

  12. Right here is the right website for anybody who wants to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been written about for many years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  13. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    But think of if you added some great images or video clips
    to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but
    with images and videos, this website could definitely be one of the most beneficial in its niche.
    Awesome blog!

  14. You’re so cool! I do not believe I’ve truly read through something like this
    before. So wonderful to find another person with a few genuine thoughts
    on this issue. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.

    This web site is something that is required on the
    internet, someone with some originality!

  15. Hi there, I found your website via Google at the same time as searching for
    a comparable topic, your website came up, it looks good.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply become aware of your blog through Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels.
    I will be grateful for those who proceed this in future.
    Many other folks will probably be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  16. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this subject here on your web page.

  17. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I’ve read this put up and if I may I want to
    suggest you few attention-grabbing things or tips. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to
    this article. I wish to learn more things approximately it!

Leave a Reply

